

Annual General Meeting

Minutes

30 July 2022, 1:00 pm (AEST) held via Zoom

Present: Billy Colless (Chair), Philip O'Donoghue (Minutes) Darlene Cox; John Russell; Jillian Mason-Johnson; Natalia Apostolou; Adam Bowman; Peter Norden; Mary Okello; Wayne McMillan; Peter Duffy; Tim Dymond; Graeme Wiffen; Roy Antaw; Marianne Ehrhardt; Eileen Whitehead; Rex Nicholson; Matthew Jeffrey; Victoria Collins; Kevin Conway; Kate Incerti; Maggie Sefton; Liza Schaeper; Jordan Mark; Maxine Barry; Warwick Boardman; Leanne Gorman; David Shires; Fernanda Trecenti; John Hine; Alex Tokarczyk; Troy Reynolds; Anne Boccabella; Brianna Hammond; Liam Heseltine; Roman Jade; David Redfearn; David Connah; Daniel Willis; Cam MacRae; Brian Salter-Duke; Jeff McCracken-Hewson; Jonathan Rutherford; Wendy Morris; Sam Grebert; Annie Humphries; Danielle Pain; Wade McCagh; Paul Sandringham; Fran Ross; Bryan Kavanagh; Qingsong Chen; Fiona Cameron; Oskar Beadell; Mike Sadler; Sharon Meredith; Matthew Donovan; Geri Bryant-Badham; Stephen Whale; Timothy Bryar; Reina Matsu; John Robbins; Kendrick Eustaquio; Rewi Lyall; Robyn Saltmarsh; Andrew Faith; Sarah Howe; Sarina Greco; Jannene Kyytsonen; Amanda Rose; Patrick Stephenson; Ian Taylor; Gavin Smith; Izzy Manfield; Elspeth McCracken-Hewson; Patricia Rego; Christine Roussiyan; Pam McLeod; Marie Gerrard; Ken Coghill; John Armstrong; Madeleine Sanders; Helen Politis; Jo Moreau; Warren Gardiner; Robert Dodgson; Peter Saalmans; Sandi Keane; Terry Larkins; Jim Turnour; Megan Poad; Karl Valentine; Daniel Nicholson; Karla Benitez; Tom Ingham; Eva Cox; Maggie L'Estrange; Connor Darling; Mark Sandler; Julia Thornton; Kerry Lovering; Caroline Blakers; James Blair; David Hall; Peter Kriesner; Maggie Ross; Elissa Doxey; Peter Casey; Anne Collins; Leon Zembekis; Rex Tion; Geoff Gallop; Madeleine ; Susan Hogan; Paul Cantrall; Daniel Gerrard; Sarah Mumme; Jason McKenzie; Edward Smith; Zann Maxwell; Declan Davis; Ian Laidlaw; Charles Kao; Willia Hinchcliff; Dylan Thomas; David Macdonald; Lily Morgan; Thomas Yeats; Gabrielle O'Donnell; Hazel Butorac; Mike Crook; Blain Canning; Victor Bien; John Glyde; Marian Quartly; Kayleen White; Paul Matthews; Ian Taylor; Mark Bonanno; Chris Cahill; Jona MacKenzie; Liam Clancy.

1. Acknowledgement of Country

The Chair opened the meeting and delivered an acknowledgement of country.

2. Apologies and Proxies

The Chair reported on proxies that had been submitted in advance of the meeting as follows:

Jackson, Fred Sim, Ian Squadron, Cecilia Winkleman, Michael Steele, Rodwell, Derek O'Reilly, Pauline Gambley, Joseph to Billy Colless Donald Baker to Leon Sinek, Declan Price Books, Derek Wesley O'Reilly to Patrick Stewart, Samuel Stewart to Zane Maxwell

Motion:

That the apologies and proxies are noted as reported

Moved Phil O'Donoghue Seconded: Mark Bonanno <u>Carried</u>

3. Minutes of 2021 AGM

Motion:

That minutes of the 2021 AGM are accepted as a true and accurate record.

Moved: Kevin Conway

Seconded: Fran Ross

Carried

4. Reports

4.1 Chairperson Report

Billy Colless provided a report of activities of the Fabians over the past year, noting the challenges that were posed due to the pandemic and the federal election. The report was noted.

4.2 Treasurer Report

Dani Pain spoke to her report and noting the healthy state of finances for the organisation.

Motion:

That this AGM of the Australian Fabians Inc. Authorise the 'public officers' reports to Consumer Affairs Victoria and ASIC.

Moved: Phil O'Donoghue Seconded: Mark Bonnano

Carried

4.3 Membership Report

Kevin Conway spoke to membership which currently stands at 1,662 and which has grown by almost 10% over the past year. The report was noted.

4.4 Branch Report

Branch reports were provided by the Victorian, NSW, QLD., ACT, SA and WA Branches and the meeting noted activities. The reports were noted.

4.5 Returning Officer Report

Max Dumais spoke to his report, noting a number of position were elected unopposed and providing the results of elections conducted among members for contested position and/or appointments via Branch AGMs. In doing so declared the following elected:

National Chair: Billy Colless National Deputy Chair: Sarah Howe National Secretary: Keven Conway Treasurer: Dannielle Pain National Membership Secretary: Philip O'Donoghue Branch Board Representatives: Victoria: Jeff McCracken-Hewson NSW Rep: Mark Bonnano Queensland: Yara Jabbour WA Rep: Phil O'Donoghue SA: Leon Cermak ACT: Daniel Gerrard

Motion:

That the Returning Officer's Report be accepted.

Moved: Mark Bonnano Seconded: Julia Thornton

<u>Carried</u>

Motion:

That Max Dumais is Appointed as the 2023-24 Returning Officer.

Moved: Leon Cermak Seconded: Sarah Howe

Carried

4.6 Awards Committee Report

Billy Colless spoke to this report. The Awards Committee has recommended life membership for Janet McCalman and that nomination was addressed in support by Julia Thornton. The Committee also recommended Megan Poad for the award of Patrons Meritorious Service Award and Sarah Howe spoke to that nomination.

Motion:

That the Awards Committee Report be accepting including the awarding of life membership to Janet Calman and Patrons Meritorious Service Award to Megan Poad.

Moved: Kevin Conway Seconded: Sarah Howe

Carried

5. General Business

None.

The meeting closed at 2:05pm (AEST).