## April 2003

## Social work group names Fleischauer Legislator of the Year

## The Dominion Post

Delegate Barbara Evans Fleischauer of Morgantown received the inaugural Legislator of the Year Award from the West Virginia Chapter of the National Association of Social Workers.

The award, which recognizes Fleischauer as a legislator who shares the values of professional social workers, was presented before more than 2,000 professionals at the NASW annual Spring Conference in Charleston.

Fleischauer has represented Monongalia County in the House of Delegates since 1994. The 1992 WVU College of Law graduate has spent her entire legal career championing women's rights, employment issues and occupational health and safety.

In the legislature, she has been in the forefront of social justice issues, including improving domestic violence laws, children's issues such as child protective services and foster care, the environment and access to health care.

Fleischauer serves as co-chair of the Equal Pay Commission and was recently appointed House chair of the Juvenile Foster Care and Placement Task Force. In addition, she chairs the Committee on Constitutional Revision and is a member of the Health and Human Resources and Judiciary Committees.

"Delegate Fleischauer's commitment to fairness and social justice exemplifies the values of the social work profession," NASW WV Chapter President Dr. Eleanor Blakely said.

"She has been a tireless advocate of issues, such as pay equity, that have a tremendous impact on our ability to attract and retain social workers in the public welfare sector. We are especially pleased Delegate Fleischauer has been named to co-chair the Juvenile Task Force, because of her many years of work toward solutions for at-risk children."

Other awards presented at the conference went to Michael Vincent of Cool Ridge, the Catalyst Award for Direct Social Work Practice, and Julie Pratt of Charleston, West Virginia's 2003 Social Worker of the Year.





-

œ

## National Association Of Social Workers West Virginia Chapter is Pleased to Recognize

Delegate

Rachara Evans. Fleischauer

