CONGRATULATIONS TO VICTORIA FOR ENDING NATIVE FOREST LOGGING

This is a win for Victoria's economy, communities, climate and wildlife.

Dear Premier Jeremy Rockliff

It's time for lutruwita/Tasmania to follow suit and protect our native forests.

Successive Tasmanian Governments have provided over \$1 billion in subsidies to the Tasmanian Forestry industry over the past 20 years. This money could be invested elsewhere, for nurses, for teachers and for new homes.

The majority of Tasmania's native forests end up as woodchips and waste. It is not essential for housing. We use plantation-based pine for housing frames.

Australia remains the only developed nation on WWF's list of global deforestations fronts. Aotearoa/New Zealand stopped logging its native forests in 2002 and today has a thriving plantation forestry industry.

Now is the time to protect Tasmania's irreplaceable native forests and support native forestry workers to move to sustainable industries.

LET THIS BE THE YEAR TASMANIA PROTECTS ITS MAGNIFICEN LY SIGNIFICA

Bob Debus AM

Chair, Wilderness Australia and former NSW Minister for the Environment

Penny Clive

Zali Steggall OAM

Independent Member for Warringah

Independent Member for Goldstein

Dr Sophie Scamps

Independent Member for Mackellar

Cassy O'Connor

Leader, Tasmanian Greens

Christine Milne AO Ambassador, Global Greens

Bob Brown

Former Leader of the Australian Greens

Anna Reynolds

Martiin Wilder AM

CEO, Pollination and Chair WWF Australia

Jane Hutchinson

Co-CEO, Pollination and former Tasmanian Australian of the Year

Tom Allen

Director, Wilderness Society (Tasmania)

Graeme Wood AM & Anna Cerneaz Custodians, Spring Bay Mill

Campaigns Manager, Bob Brown Foundation

Simon Allston

Retired Ombudsman

Annie Ford

Co-ordinator, Forestry Watch

Trish Hodge

palawa/Trawlwoolway and coowner, Nita Education

Rebecca Howarth

Environment Tasmania

Professor Emerita Lesley Hughes

Councillor, Climate Council of Australia

Professor Tim Flannery

Australian of the Year 2017

Professor Jamie Kirkpatrick Spokesperson, Tasmanian Independent Science Council

Professor Bill Laurance

Distinguished Professor, James Cook Lime Cordiale

Dr Jennifer Sanger

Lead Scientist and Co-Founder, The Tree Projects

Dr Nick Fitzgerald

Scientist

Rosalie Martin

Founder, Speech Pathology Tasmania and Tasmanian Australian of the Year 2017

Eloise Carr

Director, The Australia Institute Tasmania

Sharee McCammon

Tasmanian Climate Collective

Amelia Cromb

Member, GRANT (Grassroots Action Network Tasmania)

Greg Irons

Managing Director, Bonorong Wildlife Centre

Tarkine Running

Anthony Broese van Groenou, Anton Vikstrom & Sam Whitehead

Co-founders, Good Car Co

Nigel Sharp

Executive Chair. Odonata Foundation

Dr Aila Keto AO

President, Australian Rainforest Conservation Society

Ian Thorpe AM

Olympic Champion

Hilary Bell

Playwright

Scott Rankin

Founder, Big hART and Tasmanian Australian of the Year 2018

Oliver Leimbach

Lead Singer and Co-founder,

Hannah Moloney Director, Good Life Permaculture

Anthony Houston

Tasmanian Farmer

Ilsa Colson

Exectuive Director, Biodiversity Council

Lisa Miller & Cameron Adams

Directors, Wedgetail

Richard Di Natale

Public Health Advisor

Janet Hall

General Practitioner

Louise Morris

Director, Blue Derby Wild

Tara & Steve Howell

Owner Operator, Blue Derby Pods Ride

Simon French

Owner Operator, Maydena Mountain Bike Park

Ben Rea

Owner Operator, Tas e-bike **Adventure Tours**

Leanne Minshull

Co-founder, Local Network

Simon Sheikh CEO, Future Super

Eytan Lenko

CEO, Boundless Earth

Tim Winton

Author

Richard Flanagan

Author Claudia Karvan Actor

Miriam Margolyes

Actor

Actor and Producer

John Bell AO OBE

Director, Actor

Damon Gameau Co-founder, Regen Studios

Anna Volska

Actress

Ange Boxall

Musician and Creative Producer

Brian Ritchie

Violent Femmes Bassist and MONA Artistic Director of Music

First Dog on the Moon

Cartoonist

Justin Kurzel

Film Director and Producer

Helen Bowden

Television Producer

Christopher Lawrence

Broadcaster

Clare Ainsworth Herschell Co-founder, Groundswell Giving

Arielle Gamble

CEO, Groundswell Giving

Dane O'Shanassy

Country Director Australia and NZ, Patagonia Inc.





Tasmania